Brussels restaurants


Continuing my periodic restaurant commentaries, last week in Brussels provided a great opportunity to listen to advice from friends who live there, and explore hidden away restaurants.  While I am tempted to keep these to myself, I enjoyed them so much that I thought I would share them here in the hope that these excellent restaurants will benefit from additional business.  Just don’t be there when I am!

  • La Quincaillerie – Rue du Page 45, B-1050 Brussels.  As one of the first restaurants to set up in the trendy Chatelain neighbourhood, La Quincaillerie stands out among the many fashion boutiques and purveyors of upmarket knick-knacks. It has an excellent wine list, and particularly good seafood and chicken; I really enjoyed the Tartare de boeuf au parmesan et à la roquette.  To drink, I would recommend the 2005 Gewürztraminer from Louis Sipp à Ribeauvillé in Alsace
  • La Canne en Ville – Rue de la Réforme 22, B-1050 Brussels.  Exceptional!  Try the Duo de coquilles Saint Jacques rôties et filet de sole farci à la mousseline d’écrevisses, beurre fouetté au citron.  And to drink, be adventurous and taste the Bourgogne rosé Marsannay Regis Bouvier 2005.
Leave a comment

Filed under Restaurants, Uncategorized, Wine

Leave a Reply

