ICTs and Nobel Prizes

The 2009 Nobel Prize for Physics has a decided ICT theme to it!  Congratulations to the following:

  • Half of the prize goes to Charles K. Kao (Standard Telecommunication Laboratories Harlow, United Kingdom; Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China) “for groundbreaking achievements concerning the transmission of light in fibers for optical communication”; and
  • Half of the prize is shared by William S. Boyle and George E. Smith (both from the Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, USA) “for the invention of an imaging semiconductor circuit – the CCD sensor”

Video of the announcement


Leave a comment

Filed under ICT4D

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s