Voyager Estate, 1995 Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot


Rarely do I use my blog to comment on a single wine, but exploring my ‘cellar’ over the Christmas period I came across a Voyager Estate Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot (1995) that I had bought there when I visited the winery a decade ago in February 1999.  I had fully expected it to be past its best, but far from it, this was a rich, delicious wine that was well worth the wait!

The first surprise was the colour – still a surprisingly deep red, without anything like as much browning as I would have expected from a wine of this age.  The nose was very clean, combining the typical blackcurrant aromas I had expected, but with a very distinctive scent of tobacco – a definite touch of Monte Cristo Cuban cigars!

The taste was smooth and complex, with the fine tannins having mellowed and softened – rich, soft blackcurrant fruit with a touch of cedar.  Excellent depth of flavour – and full of subtle complexity that was difficult to describe.

The label had the following account of the wine: “The 1995 season was long and dry.  The vines carried a small crop, with intensely powerful fruit flavours and fine grained tannins.  The resultant red wines represent the ultimate in Margaret River wines. Intense cassis and concentrated mulberry are beautifully integrated with the toasty characters from 24 months maturation in French oak.  Its intense amount of flavour, complexity and abundance of fine tannin augur extremely well for a long and rewarding life.  While it will be drinking well from 1999 it will be at its sublime best in 12 years time and beyond”. [13.9% alc/vol].

So, if you can find a bottle, it is definitely worth buying – and drinking – although I guess there cannot be many bottles left of this really lovely wine!

1 Comment

Filed under Wine

One response to “Voyager Estate, 1995 Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot

  1. Christine

    I was lucky enough to enjoy a bottle of this wine with family last evening.
    Absolutley stunning.
    I have a couple of others in my cellar and look forward to the next one
    🙂

Leave a Reply

