UK government cancels identity cards


I have long emphasised the ethical issues associated with the introduction of identity cards, and so it is good to see that one of the first steps that the new UK government has taken is to cancel their introduction.  The Home Office’s Identity and Passport website now carries the following stark statement:

“The Government has stated in the Coalition Agreement that it will cancel Identity Cards and the National Identity Register. We will announce in due course how this will be achieved. Applications can continue to be made for ID cards but we would advise anyone thinking of applying to wait for further announcements.

Until Parliament agrees otherwise, identity cards remain valid and as such can still be used as an identity document and for travel within Europe. We will update you with further information as soon as we have it”.

2 Comments

Filed under Ethics, Politics, Uncategorized

2 responses to “UK government cancels identity cards

  1. ugomatic

    Just for the sake of arguing, I have been quite shocked by the difference between the UK and Italy in terms of proving my identity. When I went to vote for the local elections in London last week, I could have been anyone – I just stated an address and indicated on the list who I was. I happened to not be attempting to cheat, but I could have easily voted 10 times at 10 different polling stations if only I had done a bit of research… In Italy, either the official at the polling station guarantees that (s)he knows you personally, or you need to show your ID card. I know this doesn’t touch your fundamental ethical issues about the subject, but I still wanted to contribute 🙂

Leave a Reply

