WISE Awards 2010 – closing date 15th July

The Qatar Foundation has recently announced the WISE (World Innovation Summit for Education) Awards application process for 2010 – with a closing date of 15th July 2010.

Recipients of the 2009 WISE Awards were:

  • Sheetal Mehta for Project Nanhi Kali (India)
  • Vicky Colbert for Escuela Nueva (Colombia)
  • Delio Morais for Distance Learning in the Amazon Forest (Brazil)
  • Peter Levy for Curriki (USA)
  • Martin Burt for The Self-Sufficient School (Paraguay)
  • Joyce Dongotey-Padi for the Widows Alliance Network for Sustainable Economic Development in Ghana

The 2010 WISE Awards are designed to recognise and support outstanding practice and achievement within the theme of Transforming Education: Investment, Innovation and Inclusion. Applicants must show how they deliver on the following ten criteria:

  1. Educational Transformation: the overall extent to which the educational activity has transformed an aspect of education that has also had societal impact;
  2. Sustainable investment: the extent to which the educational activity is funded in a sustainable way to ensure its continuing viability;
  3. Innovation: the extent to which the educational activity is innovative in design and/or practice, thereby transforming traditional means of educational delivery;
  4. Inclusion and Diversity: the extent to which the activity includes a diversity of beneficiaries and has enhanced equality of access to education;
  5. Quality of Learning: the extent to which the transformation has improved the quality of learning;
  6. Scalability: the extent to which there is evidence that the educational activity has the potential to be scaled up effectively, or has already been replicated at a larger scale than originally piloted;
  7. Partnership and Participation: the extent to which the educational activity has established effective partnerships and includes participation from beneficiaries and stakeholders;
  8. Monitoring and Evaluation: the extent to which there is evidence of effective ongoing enhancement of the programme through regular monitoring and also evidence of formal internal or external evaluation procedures;
  9. Dissemination: the extent to which the organisations involved are already effectively disseminating and sharing their educational practices with other practitioners;
  10. Clarity of proposal: the extent to which the proposal is clearly intelligible and conforms to the requirements of the application process.
The  application process is designed to generate six Awards. Each of the six recipients will receive a WISE Prize Award of $20,000 at the Gala Dinner on 8 December 2010. Recipients will also be given the opportunity to showcase their projects during the WISE Summit to be held in Doha from 7 to 9 December 2010.
The WISE Awards application process is open to individuals or teams of individuals from across the world and across all education sectors (apart from previous WISE Award winners). Thirty finalists will be announced by mid August 2010, and they will be invited to submit more detailed applications. The six prize winners will be selected from these finalists.

Leave a comment

Filed under Education, Higher Education

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s