Fatehpur Sikri, January 1977


In January 1977 I was fortunate to be able to visit Agra, and took the opportunity to visit the amazing old city of Fatehpur Sikri, which was founded in 1569 by the Emperor Akbar, and served as the capital of the Mughal Empire from 1571 to 1585.  It represents a wonderful amalgam of different architectural styles, but was abandoned shortly after its construction because the lake that supplied the city with water dried up, and increasing turmoil with the Rajputana areas made it insecure.  I also particularly remember seeing a leper settlement just outside the city walls, but couldn’t bring myself to photograph the poverty and misery I saw there.  Digitizing my slides from almost 40 years ago, I thought that others might like to see something of what I experienced there.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under India, Photographs

Leave a Reply

