Abu Dhabi in 1980


I first visited Abu Dhabi in 1980; there was construction everywhere and part of me wished I had been there 20 years earlier!   The changes since then, though, have been enormous, and it is very hard to recognise any of what I experienced then in the modern city of today.  As part of my ongoing project of digitsing my slides from  30-40 years ago, I hope that the selection below captures something of the city as it was at that time: the juxtaposition of small new mosques with high-rise buildings; the contrasts between the greenness of the agricultural projects at Al Ain, and the urban concrete of Abu Dhabi city itself; the differences in wealth between local citizens and immigrant labourers who were mainly from South Asia; the belief that pumping oil could create cities, whereas pumping water from the underground aquifers could turn the desert green; the rather sleepy atmosphere that pervaded the place; the beauty and colours of the dhows on the blue, blue sea; the markets on the streets where one could buy everything from animals to all sorts of imported goods from containers; the mysteries of the suq…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

Filed under agriculture, Markets, Photographs, Rural, UAE, Urban

One response to “Abu Dhabi in 1980

  1. Takes me back Tim. I worked there 79-80 seconded from Cable & WIreless to Emirtel. There was a pioneering spirit about, and what a life – rugby, water-skiing and picknicking on the sandbanks and camping out under the stars. When first went back a two years ago I could not even find the area where I used to live. I think though it has retained a spaciousness that Dubai has not or perhaps never had.

Leave a Reply

